Competitors Set For Federal, State, County & City March Primary Races

With only a handful of exceptions, the incumbents in the political positions to be voted upon in San Bernardino County are seeking reelection.
There were some mild suprises, with at least one officeholder who was not expected to file for reelection doing so and one officeholder failing to qualify her candidacy.
In the 23rd Congressional District, which covers Adelanto, Apple Valley, Barstow, Big Bear Lake, Hesperia, Twentynine Palms, Victorville, Yucca Valley and Yucaipa and parts of Colton, Highland Loma Linda, Redlands and San Bernardino, the Republican incumbent, Jay Obernolte is being challenged by Democrat Derek Marshall.
In the 25th Congressional District, which extends over Banning, Beaumont, Blythe, Cathedral City, Coachella, Desert Hot Springs, Indio, Needles, San Jacinto and part of Hemet, Democrat incumbent Raul Ruiz is facing independent Ryan Dean Burkett, Republicans Miguel Chapa, Cecilia Truman and Ian M. Weeks, as well as Democrat Oscar Ortiz.
In the 28th Congressional District, which entails many foothill communities in Los Angeles County and Upland and Rancho Cucamonga, Democrat incumbent Judy Chu is up against Libertarian Jose Castaneda, Peace and Freedom Party member William Patterson and Republicans April Verlato and Bonnie Wallace.
In the 33rd Congressional District, including ludes Grand Terrace, Rialto and parts of Colton, Fontana, Highland, Rancho Cucamonga, Redlands and San Bernardino, incumbent Democrat Pete Aguilar is facing Republican Tom Herman.
In the 35th Congressional District, which covers all of Chino, Montclair and Ontario and parts of Chino Hills, Eastvale, Fontana, Pomona, Rancho Cucamonga and Upland, Republicans Vijal Suthar and Mark Cargile and Democrat Melissa May are taking on incumbent Democrat Norma Torres.
In California Senate District 19, which in addition to some Riverside County communities touches covers Twentynine Palms, Yucaipa, Yucca Valley and parts of Colton, Grand Terrace, Highland, Loma Linda and Redlands, Republican incumbent Rosilicie Ochoa Bogh is being challenged by Democrats Blanca Azucena Gomez and Lisa Middleton.
In the newly-drawn 23rd California Senatorial District, which includes Adelanto, Hesperia, Victorville, Palmdale and Lancaster, the race will feature four non-incumbents, Democrats Ollie McCAulley, Kipp Mueller and Republicans Suzette MartinezValladares and James Hamburger (R)
In the 25th State Senate District, which lies mostly in Los Angeles County but includes parts of Upland and Rancho Cucamonga, Republican Elizabeth Wong Ahlers is running against Democrats Sandra Armenta, Teddy Choi, Sasha Perez and Yvonne Yiu.
In the 29th Senatorial District, which includes Rialto, San Bernardino and parts of Colton, Fontana, Grand Terrace, Highland, Rancho Cucamonga, Redlands and Upland, incumbent Assemblywoman Eloise Gomez Reyes, a Democrat, is making a bid to move into the upper legislative house in Sacramento against another Demnocrat, Jason O’Brien, and two Republicans, Carlos Garcia and Kathleen Hazelton. In the 34th California Assembly, which covers Apple Valley, Barstow, Big Bear Lake, Twentynine Palms and parts of Hesperia, Highland, Lancaster, Palmdale and Victorville, the incumbent Republican, Tom Lackey, must overcome Democrat Ricardo Ortega.
In the 39th Assembly District, which covers Adelanto, Hesperia, Lancaster, Palmdale and Victorville, incumbent Democrat Juan Carrillo Ventura will contend with Republicans Paul Marsh and George Pariona.
In the 41st Assembly District, which is composed mostly of eight Los Angeles County and parts of Hesperia, Rancho Cucamonga and Upland, four non-incumbents, Democrats Phlunte Riddle, John Harabedian, Jed Leano and Republican Michelle Del Rosario Martinez are competing.

In the 47th Assembly District, the lion’s share of which lies in Riverside County but includes all of Yucca Valley and parts of Redlands and Highland, and San Jacinto, Republican incumbent Greg Wallis is up against Democrats Christy Holstege and Jamie Swain.
In the 50th Assembly District, including Colton, Loma Linda, parts of Fontana, Ontario, Rancho Cucamonga, Redlands, Rialto and San Bernardino, three Democrats – Robert Garcia, Adam Perez and DeJonae Shaw are running.
In the 53rd Assembly District, icluding Montclair, Pomona and parts of Chino, Ontario and Upland, Democrats Carlos Goytia, Javier Hernandez, Michelle Rodriguez and Robert Torres are running against Republican Nick Wilson .
In the 58th Assembly District, composed primarily of Riverside County but including Grand Terrace, REpublican Leticia Castillo is up against Democrats Clarissa Cervantes and Ronaldo Fierro.
San Bernardino County First District Supervisor Paul Cook, who is now 80 years old, defied expectations that he would retire and is seeking reelection. Running against him are Marcus Hernandez, Clifton Harris and Rafael Porras.
Third District Supervisor Dawn Rowe must overcome Graham Smith, Chris Carrillo and Robert Block to remain in office.
Incumbent Ward 3 San Bernardino City Councilman Juan Figueroa is facing Christian Shaughnessy.
Ward 5 Councilman Ben Reynoso is facing a challenge by former Ward 5 councilmen Chas Kelly and Henry Nickel as well as Kim Knaus and Rose Ward.
In a stunning development, incumbent Ward 6 Councilwoman Kim Calvin failed to qualify for the March ballot because of a voter endorsement signature issue. Running to replace here is former Ward 6 Councilwoman Bessine Littlefield Richard, whom Calvin defeated in 2020, and Mario Flores.
In San Bernardino’s Ward 7, incumbent Damon Alexander is seeking reelection against James Penman and Treasure Ortiz, both of whom were unsuccessful in their mayoral bids in 2022.
In the 40th Senatorial District, in the 45th Assembly District, In the 59th Assembly District and in San Bernardino County’s Fifth Supervisorial District, respectively, incumbents Young Kim, James Ramos, Phillip Chen and Joe Baca Jr. are running unopposed.

Leave a Reply