Registration, Including On-Line Mode, For Municipal Elections Running Until August 7

Those who are interested in vying for election at the municipal level in San Bernardino County will be required to take out and return candidacy papers during the nomination period, which starts next Monday, July 13, and ends at 5 p.m. Friday, August 7.
Because of concerns with regard to the coronavirus pandemic, the San Bernardino County Registrar of Voters office is featuring a candidate registration process that will minimize human contact, at least in the initial stage of the application effort.
San Bernardino County municipal office hopefuls can initiate their applications by means of the “My Candidacy Gateway” portal on the registrar’s website,
Upon completing the initial candidacy application steps, the candidates can schedule an in-person appointment at the registrars office, located at 777 E Rialto Ave, San Bernardino, CA 92415, to finish their filing or do so through a video conference. The registrar’s office will not accept walk-in delivery of the applications without an appointment.
On November 3, the day the 2020 Presidential General Election will be held, mayoral and city council elections will be held in 23 of San Bernardino County’s 24 incorporated cities or towns.
In Adelanto, the city council positions held by Ed Camargo and Joy Jeannette, who was elected in a special election to replace indicted Councilman Jermaine Wright, are up for election this year.
In the Town of Apple Valley, Larry Cusack and Art Bishop will need to stand for reelection to the town council to remain on that panel.
In Chino, Mayor Eunice Ulloa’s term will end this year. Paul Rodriguez, who was appointed to replace Glenn Duncan as city councilman and then elected in a special election in 2018, will need to stand for reelection in District 1 if he wishes to remain on the council, as will Tom Haughey in District 4.
In Chino Hills, Art Bennett and Cynthia Moran must stand for reelection this year or leave office.
In Colton, appointed District 3 Councilman Kenneth Koperski, District 5 Councilman Jack Woods and District 6 Councilman Isaac Suchil have terms on the ultimate decision-making panel in the Hub City that will end this year, as does City Clerk Carolina Padilla and City Treasurer Aurelio De La Torre.
In Fontana, Jesse Sandoval and Jesse Armendarez are approaching the end of their current terms. Armendarez is in a run-off election against Rialto Councilman Joe Baca, Jr. for Fifth District county supervisor in November. As political prognosticators favor Baca in that race, there is speculation that Armendarez will seek to remain on the council in Fontana, such that he will be on the ballot twice in November.
In Grand Terrace, Sylvia Robles, Bill Hussey and Jeff Allen, who captured a position on the council in a special election in 2018, are due to seek reelection or leave the council.
In Hesperia, Rebekah Swanson and Larry Bird must seek reelection this year or forsake their current positions on the council representing the City of Progress.
In Highland, the incumbencies of Jesse Chavez in the city’s First District and Anaeli Solano in the Second District are set to expire. They have the option of seeking reelection.
In Montclair, Carolyn Raft is on track to stand for reelection to the city council and Tenice Johnson, who was appointed to the city council in 2019 when John Dutrey was obliged to resign from the council to move into the mayor’s post, will need to seek validation from the city’s voters as well to hang onto her council position.
In Needles, Tona Belt and Shawn Gudmanson, elected and reelected in 2016 respectively, will need to compete for reelection this year to remain in office, as will Councilwoman Louise Evans, who was appointed to replace former Councilman Clayton Hazlewood, who resigned.
In Ontario, Councilwoman Debra Porada and Councilman Ruben Valencia are up for reelection as are City Clerk Sheila Mautz and City Treasurer James Milhiser.
In Rancho Cucamonga, the council terms of Lynne Kennedy and Sam Spagnolo are drawing to a close this year as are those for Treasurer James Frost and City Clerk Janice Reynolds.
In Redlands, Eddie Tejeda, who was elected in 2016, and Toni Momberger, who was appointed to replace the late Pat Gilbreath and was then elected to a two-year term on the council in 2018, are due to run for reelection or relinquish their council seats. Also up for election this year in Redlands are City Clerk Jeanne Donaldson and Treasurer Robert Dawes.
In Rialto, Mayor Deborah Robertson’s term is ending this year as are the terms of councilmen Andy Carrizales and Rafael Trujillo, together with those of City Clerk Barbara McGee and Treasurer Edward Carrillo.
In Twentynine Palms, Steve Bilderain, in the city’s First District, and Joel Klink, in the Second District, are up for reelection.
In Upland, Mayor Debbie Stone is due to stand for election this year, and appointed Councilman Bill Velto must either run for council in the First District, where he lives, or vie for mayor to remain politically alive in the City of Gracious Living. Treasurer Larry Kinley’s term also ends this year.
In Victorville, incumbents Jim Cox, Blanca Gomez and Gloria Garcia, the latter of whom has been serving in the capacity of appointed mayor for more than five years, are up for election.
In Yucaipa, Third District Councilman Bobby Duncan, Fourth District Councilwoman Denise Allen-Hoyt and Fifth District Councilman Dick Riddell, who is currently the longest serving elected official in San Bernardino County, must stand for election this year.
In the Town of Yucca Valley, Jeff Drozd, now serving in the capacity of appointed mayor, and Councilman Robert Lombardo will see their current terms expire in November.
In San Bernardino, that city held elections for the council in the Third, Fifth, Sixth and Seventh wards during the March 3 Primary Election. Incumbent Councilman Juan Figueroa won in the Third Ward race and challenger Kimberly Calvin won in the Sixth Ward race. In November, incumbent Fifth Ward Councilman Henry Nickel will face Ben Reynoso in a run-off and incumbent Seventh Ward Councilman Jim Mulvihill will need to overcome challenger Damon Alexander to remain on the county seat’s city council.
The City of Loma Linda held its election during the March Presidential Primary. Incumbents Rhodes Rigsby and John Lennart were reelected, along with challenger Bhavin Jindal, who defeated incumbent Ovidiu Popescu.
-Mark Gutglueck

Leave a Reply