Mayoral Appointments Made In Six Of County’s Cities

In recent days and weeks, the mayoralty in six San Bernardino cities and towns changed.
In 13 if the county’s 24 cities – Chino, Montclair, Ontario, Upland, Rancho Cucamonga, Fontana, Rialto, Colton, Grand Terrace, San Bernardino, Adelanto, Barstow and Needles, the mayor is directly elected by the city’s residents. In eleven of the county’s cities – Chino Hills, Loma Linda, Hesperia, Victorville, Apple Valley, Highland, Redlands, Yucaipa, Big Bear, Yucca Valley and Twentynine Palms – the mayor is selected from among the city council’s members by the council members themselves.
In Chino Hills, Peter Rogers is now serving a one-year term as mayor which began on December 1 and will run through November 20, 2018. He replaced Cynthia Moran, who has now moved into the position of mayor pro tem.
In Hesperia. Russ Blewett was appointed mayor, the second time he has been honored with that appointment. He replaced Paul Russ. Bill Holland is to serve as mayor pro tem.
In Apple Valley, Art Bishop has replaced Scott Nassif as mayor. Elevated to the post of mayor pro tem was Larry Cusack.
In Big Bear, Rick Herrick has been selected to serve as mayor in 2018. He replaced former mayor Bill Jahn. Randall Putz was elected as mayor pro tem.
In Yucca Valley, Rick Denison was rotated upward from his former position as mayor pro tem to mayor, replacing Merl Abel. Robert Lombardo was appointed mayor pro tem for the coming year.
McArthur Wright was selected by his colleagues in Twentynine Palms to replace John Cole. Steve Bilderain was inserted into the mayor pro tem position.

Leave a Reply