County, State & Federal Office Seekers For Primary Emerge

The list of candidates vying in the various local, state and federal political races scheduled for the June Primary Election has been set.
In the contest for 1st District San Bernardino County Supervisor, incumbent Robert Lovingood is up against challengers Rick Roelle, Angela Valles, Bill Holland and Paul Russ. Lovingood is seeking reelection this year after being elected in 2012, when he and Roelle proved the highest vote-getters in the primary election before tilting against one another head-to head in the November election. Lovingood edged Roelle in the run-off, 38,640 votes or 51.22 percent to 36,798 votes or 48.78 percent. Roelle is a former Apple Valley councilman and mayor; Valles, Roelle’s wife, is a former Victorville councilwoman. Holland is currently the mayor in Hesperia. Russ is a councilman in Hesperia.
In the county’s 3rd District, incumbent supervisor James Ramos is seeking reelection. His lone challenger is Donna Munoz, who formerly worked as one of his field representatives and is currently the general manager of the Morongo Valley Community Services District & Fire Department.
Incumbent Fifth District Supervisor Josie Gonzales will face no opposition.
Incumbent 8th Congressional District Representative Paul Cook, a Republican, is being challenged former Assemblyman and fellow Republican Tim Donnelly and three Democrats — former Copper Mountain College board member Dr. Rita Ramirez, Victor Valley Community College Board President John Pinkerton and U.S. Army combat veteran Roger La Plante.
Pete Aguilar, the former Redlands mayor who was elected to Congress in the 31st Congressional District in 2014 will need to face down fellow Democrat Kaisar Ahmed, former Democrat-but-now-Republican Joe Baca, Republican Paul Chabot and Republican Sean Flynn. Baca was a member of Congress for 13 years before he was turned out of office in 2012 by another Democrat, Gloria Negrete-Mcleod. Aguilar beat Chabot in the 2014 election.
Former Pomona Mayor and incumbent 35th District Congresswoman Norma Torres, a Democrat, will vie against Tyler Fiscella, a Republican.
In the 25th Congressional District, Ryan Caforio, a Democrat and Lou Vice, a Democrat and Jeffrey Moffatt, a Republican, are seeking to unseat incumbent Steve Knight, a Republican.
Incumbent 40th District Republican Assemblyman Marc Steinorth must fend off Abigail Medina, a Democrat.
In Assembly District 41, Chris Holden, the Democrat incumbent, will run against three hopefuls, Republicans Y C. Higgins and Dan M. Taylor and Alan S. Reynolds, who has no party affiliation.
Incumbent 42nd District Assemblyman Chad Mayes, who was formerly the mayor of Yucca Valley, must hurdle over Democrat Greg Rodriguez and Libertarian Jeff Hewitt.
Cheryl R. Brown, the incumbent Democrat in the 47th Assembly District is being assailed by another Democrat, Eloise Reyes and A Chanel Sanchez, a Republican.
In Assembly District 55, Gregg D. Fritchle, a Democrat and Republicans Phillip Chen, Ray Marquez, Mike Spence and Steven M. Tye are running to replace Ling Ling Chang, who is seeking election to the State Senate in the 29th Senate District.
In the 21st state Senate District seat being vacated by Republican state senator Sharon Runner, assemblyman Scott Wilk, R-Santa Clarita, and Republican law firm co-owner Star Moffatt are vying for the office along with Democrats Johnathon Ervin, an aerospace engineer, and Steve Hill, an appraiser and businessman.
Incumbent state senator Mike Morrell, R-Rancho Cucamonga, plans to fend off challenges from educator Ronald J. O’Donnell and small businessman Mark Westwood, both Democrats, in the state 23rd Senate District.
Incumbent 33rd District Assemblyman Jay Obernolte, R-Hesperia, is facing a challenge from building contractor Scott Markovich, a Democrat who ran for the seat as a Republican in 2014.

Leave a Reply